Web Site Design & Execution by Touch of Classics!
All Rights Reserved 2018 ®
James R. Longacre
as The "Singing" Bejamin Franklin
The string quartet believed to have been written by Ben Franklin was composed while he was living in France. It is in 5 movements and is unusual in that it is written for 3 violins and one cello. It also calls for all four string instruments to retune to different pitches, creating 16 notes to be played on open strings without left-hand fingering, using only the bow. This technique is known as scordatura, a retuning of a string instrument to lend different tone and color to the strings (usually to make them sound thinner or brighter).
Click on Pictures Below